top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturereedhh

Struggle.

Updated: Dec 2, 2018


symbology


Struggle;

I look around and see that my people are in trouble

Oblivious to the extent,

They smile

Not realizing life in amerikkka is like walking a green mile


Who’s really a friend?

Who is really a foe?

It’s hard to tell, we really don’t know


We say people of color

As if we’re all friends

When it’s race first in the end


Who, but we cry,

When we die?

Most are indifferent,

and wouldn’t search for us if we went missing


Haven’t you heard the forecast

Our ancestors been told us they’re coming for our ass

Bigoted and crass

Dangerous, poisonous snakes in yo grass


Only freedom we’ve ever known,

Was when you were willing to have your brains blown.

Fighting Black Titans

Fearless, despite knowing how short their time is


Who today has the bravery of Malcolm?

Who today is willing to be crucified like Martin?

Who today has the conviction of Nat Turner?

Who today will be our Harriet Tubman armed with the burner?


What's the fate of my people in this hellhole?

Jail cells, gangstas, hoes?


Single mothers, slaughtered brothers

Homosexuals and mulattoes

Cause you only love the others.


Purportedly we be free

Then why I feel like I’m being smothered

Try to convince me that Im trippin’

And I’m not judged by my color




Who I Am

A man who is unafraid to deal with the world as I've experienced it and see it day to day.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why?

bottom of page